Published on
Updated on 

The Outdoors Club hiking


This interview was taken with Wilko Koning / The Outdoors Club from Reddit.

Hey! I am 32 years old and I live together with my beautiful daughters and wife. I am from The Netherlands, but am about to move to Colorado. I started hiking about 7 years ago when I went to Colorado for the first time.

What is your approach to hiking? How do you choose places to travel?

I LOVE using Komoot. It’s a service that gives you the opportunity to plan tours and routes yourself or import tours they’ve curated. By browsing their app/website I find new places to go all the time. Now I just need to find the time to actually go there ;-)

What are your favorite apps you use for hiking? What features do you use most often?

I guess I kind of answered that above. But I also use AllTrails to read about conditions of the trails.

I prefer Komoot for actual planning of a hike, but All Trails has more recent reviews of trails so you know what the state of the trail looks like.

Do you use any GPS equipment for hiking? Name 5 items you can't imagine hiking without.

I use my Garmin Fenix 7X. Other things I can’t imagine doing a day hike without are:

  1. A lightweight backpack > Mine: Mammut Nirvana 18L
  2. Good trail (running) shoes or boots > Mine: Innovate X-Talon (low) or Vans Ultrarange Gore-Tex BOA MTE-3 (high)
  3. Sunglasses
  4. My Camera > Insta360 X3 because I vlog on YouTube (The Outdoors Club)
  5. Enough water and snacks

What adventures are you planning for the coming year?

I am moving to Colorado, so I can not wait to hike up my first fourteener this year! If you’re interested please subscribe to my channel The Outdoors Club.

I’ll definitely share hiking vlogs there this summer!